Sunday, 10 March 2013

Walk The Moon - Tightrope EP

So after waiting for a good few weeks, the Tighrope EP by Walk The Moon was finally made availabe in the UK today after being released in the US some weeks ago. I had high hopes for this after last years self titled major label debut turned out to be one of my favourite debuts of the year. With that in mind, I was pleased to discover this EP is a great listen if you like their sound. The EP (as you can guess) is spearheaded by the song Tighrope which is one of my personal favourites from the debut. Two versions of the song appear here: the regular version and an accoustic. The full tracklisting of the EP is as follows:
  1. Tightrope
  2. Anywayican
  3. Tete-A-Tete
  4. Drunk In The Woods
  5. Tightrope (Accoustic)
  6. Burning Down The House (Live)
I have to say all of the tracks here are most enjoyable: anywayican contains one of their most infectious trademark sing a long chorus' yet and the keyboards/synths on Drunk In The Woods are brilliant. The acoustic of Tighrope also shows a softer side to the band but it really shows off just how good their vocal harmonies are. Even the cover version of Burning Down The House by Talking Heads (cited as one of their favourite groups I believe) is very good: they retain all the qualities that made the original so good whilst putting their unique spin on it. And once again the vocals in the track are fantastic. Its not trying to imitate David Byrne's unique vocal style at all and its all the better for it. Like I said earlier, this is an excellent EP from a group that really deserve your attention. UK Walk The Moon fans should hear this ASAP and for anyone else I highly recommend it. These guys could go onto big things this year.

No comments:

Post a Comment